During a recent discussion here at the blog, I was asked to provide examples of underrepresented minority views. I’m now starting a project to review works like this from 2017. I have several candidates lined up, but I’d also be happy to have suggestions on likely candidates. I’m especially looking for Native American and LatinX worldviews, as this group has been pretty scarce in the recent SFF awards cycles, even though Native American and LatinX persons make up about 1/5 of the US population. I’m also interested in other underrepresented worldviews within the SFF community, and I may ask a few people to do guest reviews or articles as the project goes along.

I should probably define what I mean by “worldview.” I’m not looking for just diversity of race, religion, creed, gender, sexual orientation, disability status or national origin in the authors here; I’m looking for authors writing from within their own authentic worldview instead of just replaying Western stereotypes. For example, if a writer is Muslim, then I’m hoping to find some insights in the writing of what it means to be Muslim, and if someone is a military fiction fan, then I hope to see something of that history. Inclusion means accepting the worldviews of diverse people into the community. Since I’m hoping to help support the awards cycle in a small way with these reviews, I’ll also be trying to find works that somewhat meet critic Tom LeClair’s definition, that is: ambitious and profound.

Thanks for following along!