Edward LearSo, the ballot was due July 31. Voting has been quite a commitment, which explains why the awards are generally chosen by a fairly small WorldCon votership. I did finish the reading in advance of that and got my Hugo votes in, but you’ll notice I ran behind on posting the reviews. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to the Campbell Award, which was on the same ballot. If I do this again next year, I’ll have to get an earlier start.

As for how I voted, you can see from the numbers about how I’ve rated the novels/stories. There’s also an option for “no award” which stops the process of collating votes. The issue of where to use it is about quality. The question is: Are all these stories worthy of a prestigious award like the Hugos? Or should I have cut some of them out of consideration by voting “no award”?

