reading-clipart-6As usual with these things, I’ve finished the National Federation of State Poetry Societies (NFSPS) conference tired but creatively charged. I heard a lot of really good poetry and discovered some genres that I wouldn’t have expected to like (cowboy poetry?). The highlight was the slam competitions, of course, where the kids laid down a lot of great social and political commentary.

I have to admit that I don’t have standard taste in poetry. The current style is too laid back and introverted for me. I like to hear passion and cutting satire. Poets to watch for:

Curtis X. Meyer
Sean Sexton
Doyle Higdon
Bob Calabrese

For anyone who’s interested in linking up with this organization, here’s their website. They have info on the conference that’s just finished up, but in the links there’s info on local chapters and how to get in touch and join up. The next annual convention will be in Minnesota, but there are state conventions, as well.

If you’re a writer of SF&F poetry, also remember the Science Fiction Poetry Association has a magazine and presents annual awards.

